02 May 2012
Vote for your Black Isle councillors on Thursday

Highland Council elections take place tomorrow, 3 May to elect 80 councillors who will serve on the Council's 22 multi-member wards. Votes are counted the following day at the Inverness Leisure Centre, Bught Lane, Inverness.

In Cromarty, the Victoria Hall polling station is open from 7.00am until 10.00pm. Voters elect four members to the Black Isle ward by a system known as the Single Transferable Vote (STV). Instead of making a 'X', voters rank candidates on the ballot paper in order of preference using 1, 2, 3 and so on. Votes are counted electronically.

Two incumbent Black Isle councillors live in Cromarty and are seeking re-election: David Alston (Liberal Democrat, upper photo) and Craig Fraser (Scottish National Party, lower photo). Full information about the election, voting system and list of candidates can be found on the Highland Council website.

04.05:  Election result
All four Black Isle councillors re-elected: David Alston, Billy Barclay, Craig Fraser, Isobel McCallum

site map | cookie policy | privacy policy